Cootamundra E A Southee Public School

Respect, Responsibility, Resilience

Telephone02 6942 1166

Yalbinyagirri Project

Yalbinyagirri promotes the incorporation of Wiradjuri cultural values in authentic learning experiences for staff and students across Binalong, Cootamundra, Harden/Murrumburrah and Jugiong communities.

Established in 2016, the project is continually evolving to meet the needs of the Wiradjuri community, educators and students.



To promote understanding of students, educators and the wider community with experiences and opportunities that are authentic, culturally rich, historically accurate, inclusive and embracive.


Cultural Understanding








To foster a living history and continuing reconciliation journey by embedding local Wiradjuri history, culture and contributions in authentic learning experiences. This will facilitate greater understanding and respect for Aboriginal cultural values and perspectives by educators, students and all stakeholders of the Yalbinyagirri learning community.

To further embed the cross-curriculum priority of developing and understanding of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures; a priority identified in the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians.



 Sequences of Learning:

The sequences of learning in Yalbinyagirri follow the Wiradjuri way of life as described in Yindyamarra Yambuwan and the eight Aboriginal ways of learning.

The overarching values that direct all learning include:

§  Look, Listen and Learn

§  Elders

§  Country

These values are essential for learning and understanding Wiradjuri cultural values and histories.

Divided into eleven steps of learning, step one provides a foundational introduction for anyone beginning learning and further steps build on these understandings and awareness. Each step of learning is connected to the NSW Syllabus for Early Stage One to Stage Three and follow important aspects of Wiradjuri culture including:

§  Language

§  Stories

§  Connections

§  Art

§  Country

§  Living

§  Land

§  Lore/Law


Lead Schools:                                                                                 Participating Schools:

Cootamundra Public School                                                                 Jugiong Public School

EA Southee Public School, Cootamundra                                          Murrumburrah Public School                                                                                         

        Binalong Public School

Valued Contributors:

Aunty Joycelan Williams                                                               Uncle Roy "Jacko" Levett

Judy McFadyen                                                                                Dr Julia Atkin

Suzanne Hewett-Davis                                                                       Bill Godman

Jenene Mcgrath                                                                              Darron Watt and the REEC staff  Mandy and Michael DeMestre

Related content